Throwback Thursday: A Look Back at an Underrated Gem of Hilariously Patriot Inaccurate Foreshadowing

After the Patriots were defeated by the Chiefs in this now famous game over five years ago, one of the first things I saw was this Bleacher Report article. The title “The Patriots Dynasty is Finally Dead” struck impressionable 15 year old me. I did pose the question if it was really was the end for the GOATS. However, I thank this article for preparing me for this ludicrous prediction that would seem to occur after every game the Patriots lost from that point forward. I screenshot the article headline as soon as I saw it, hoping to look back on its absurdity once the Patriots were Super Bowl champions come February. Far fetched, I know. Oh wait, no it wasn’t far fetched. At least not if it comes true. I still have the picture to this day. It makes me happy to see the article still exists. Thank you, Ty Schalter. I have literally never read or heard of this guy outside of this one article, but he will live on forever in this Patirot fan’s heart.

Tom Brady plotting his next 5 years of dominance during the Arrowhead Massacre
photo of Ty Schalter
This picture of Ty in all his glory looks like it was taken in the 1980s.

Ty’s article starts with a picture of Brady that encapsulates his and the team’s sorrow that night they admittedly did get massacred. I am not fully blaming and calling out Mr. Schalter like I do in most of these articles. I understand his position in this instance. He seems to really appreciate what the Patriots had accomplished up to that point. I am sure he does not love the fact that they he could not have been more wrong. The Patriots have created a new mini dynasty that has lasted for 5 years and counting, and it started literally the very next week in the “Onto Cincinnati game”. The weird over dramatization mixed with Star Wars references is so hilarious to me as well for some reason. Even though I guarantee it wasn’t too funny on September 29th.

“If Belichick is Palpatine, then Brady’s Darth Vader, the right-hand man who does all the dirty work. Just like Vader’s infamous mask and cape, the sight of Brady in big games used to strike fear into the heart of opposing defenses. “

Leave a comment